Cephalotus · Cultivation Tips · Drosera

Important Propagation Tip

Hello and thanks for stopping by.  Today I would like to touch briefly on propagation, and I would like to share with you an important tip for successfully propagating your carnivorous plants.  I have been growing carnivorous plants for nearly 2 years now.  As I propagate all varieties of these plants with greater frequency, I am amazed by all the different ways to grow my collection: seeds, leaf cuttings, stem cuttings, root cuttings, dividing & re-potting plants that “clump,” etc.

Main reasons to propagate your plants:

1.) Give them away to your friends & family.

2.) Have extra plants to trade with others.  (Cheapest way to acquire new plants!)

3.) Propagating your plants is a way of taking out an “insurance policy” on your plants.  If something happens to the mother plant, you can start over and correct your mistakes.  In addition, if a plant dies, and you’ve been a kind & generous trade partner, people are more likely to help you out and propagate one of their plants to give to you.

This brings me to my important tip.  One of the most important things you can do when propagating your carnivorous plants is….*drum roll*…to have PATIENCE!  Having patience, not fussing over your cuttings, and just letting nature take over is a great way to keep yourself sane.

23240855234_1804b4ccae_k

Take this photo above for example.  I read online that leaf cuttings need to be done “just so.”  Articles advised floating them in pure, distilled water, under bright lights, and it needed to be a healthy leaf without any brown/dying sections.  This is a leaf from a Drosera capensis ‘Albino’.  I took the cutting, which already had a brown tip, floated it in water, and placed it on my grow rack under the lights.  A couple of days later I moved the cup to get to another plant, and I forgot to place it back on my grow rack.  This leaf cutting sat in total darkness, in my 55-60 degree basement for several WEEKS before I realized I had forgotten about it.  Upon discovering the cutting I nearly threw it away, since I noticed all the brown/dying section of the leaf.  That was until I noticed this plantlet sprouting out the side of the leaf.  I took the leaf, buried it in some media with the plantlet sticking out, and it is growing fine and now producing dew!  Check it out below!

23573345840_9c42895f99_k

23573372080_a035ce8046_k

The photo above shows a leaf pulling from a Cephalotus follicularis ‘Hummer’s Giant’, a registered cultivar.  This pot of leaf pullings has nearly been thrown away countless times…It took at least 3-4 MONTHS before it began to show new growth.  Not all plants are like this; sometimes you get lucky and other times you end up waiting many months.

23242302633_5ef8db82ff_k

The picture above is of a small, green pitcher from Cephalotus follicularis “Emu Point”.  Again, I nearly threw the pot away several times.  The main leaf pulling even shriveled up and died, however there must have still been enough plant material under the soil to create this pitcher, and it is beginning to show even more signs of growth!

23501231619_486ce85632_k

The picture above is of a Drosera hamiltonii recovering from being re-potted.  I took my own advice and re-potted the plant, taking some root cuttings while I was at it.  For weeks the plant looked like hell, but is now finally developing many new, great, dewy leaves.  I’m excited to see how this will look in a month or 2.

I’ve got many more examples however I’m sure you get the point!

*Patience is key…If you still see “green” then there’s still a chance, don’t throw it away yet!*

 

One thought on “Important Propagation Tip

  1. Oh for sure patience is super important. I sowed some D. brevifolia seed that took 4.5 months to germinate. I was convinced they were duds. Luckily, I’m quite lazy about fussing with my plants, so I just left the pot in the tray and then they finally germinated. I’ve had similar things happen with Pinguicula leaf pullings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

