New Additions

Dionaea muscipula ‘Gremlin’ a.k.a. My new Venus flytrap!

The weather is getting warmer in my area which means several things: Hiking…Swimming…BBQ…and finally being able to safely order plants!  I have been browsing several vendors’ websites, itching to add something to my carnivorous collection.  I stumbled upon a photo of a Venus Flytrap, formally named Dionaea muscipula ‘ Gremlin’ for sale at California Carnivores.  I have ZERO experience with VFT’s or any temperate carnivorous plants for that matter so I decided to give it a go.  I loved the mostly all-green look and the size of the traps.

D. muscipula 'Gremlin' from California Carnivores
D. muscipula ‘Gremlin’ from California Carnivores

The beautiful picture above is courtesy of the growers at California Carnivores .  According to the species description by Damon Collingsworth located here, this variety is known for being-

an extremely vigorous clone that has a bizarre obsession with freely dividing and clumping.  All you need to do is apply plenty of distilled water, then sit back and watch it multiply like a gremlin.

Just yesterday I received my new plant in the mail and so far I’m quite pleased.  Oh and on a somewhat related note…While writing this I discovered there may be a Gremlins reboot!

Box O' Gremlin!
Box O’ Gremlin!

Items I’ve ordered from this nursery are always well packed.

Very well packed.
Very well packed.

And here is my own little ‘gremlin.’  Apparently I’m going to violate every rule for owning a gremlin.  I will give him plenty of light…He will get very wet…and he will likely get food after midnight.

Dionaea muscipula 'Gremlin'
Dionaea muscipula ‘Gremlin’

CAREFULLY unwrap the plastic & tape…

Now he is free from his plastic death cup.  Perhaps I shall name him Gizmo.
Now he is free from his plastic death cup. Perhaps I shall name him Gizmo.

That’s all for now.  I’ve placed him on the grow rack, on a water tray, and under the T5-HO lights.  Once he acclimates for a little while and I notice active growth I plan to re-pot him into a larger container to keep outside.  I’ll post an update in a couple months.  I hope to one day have a plant pot FULL of these little guys.  Wish me luck!

3 thoughts on “Dionaea muscipula ‘Gremlin’ a.k.a. My new Venus flytrap!

  1. Interesting that our experiences are opposite! I grow 90% temperate plants and am pretty clueless with tropical types.

    Your Gremlin looks great! Can’t wait to see a carpet of traps in a few months. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maria – I have always found it funny how some of us are more attracted to temperate, and others more sub-trop & tropical. I think it really speaks to the biodiversity & flexibility of the hobby…There’s something for everyone!

    Like

  3. Nice! I recently made an order with CC and now I wish I added one of those VFT to my order.Gotta love the unique clones that are actually strong growers, hope it does well for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

