Updates

Spring Update 2015 – Lots of Flower Stalks!

It is finally beginning to look like spring here in Zone 5!  I’ve been slowly increasing the amount of time the T5-HO lights are on.  In addition I’ve been feeding my plants ONLY using Maxsea 16-16-16 fertilizer (I use 1 teaspoon per gallon of low TDS water, and apply it once or twice a month via foliar feeding in a spray bottle…Trying not to let too much get onto the soil surface as that is known to encourage algae & moss growth).  I’ve tried 1/2 tsp per gallon in the past, however the plants didn’t show any signs that they’ve been fed.  Using 1 tsp per gallon causes the plants to curl as if they’ve just caught prey and seems to be working well.

Over the winter the plants in my basement growrack have survived temperatures that fluctuate between 64F during the day and drop to approx 50-55F overnight.  These temps are slowly increasing as the weather improves.  I anticipate the basement will remain cooler and provide a nice comfortable growing environment for my plants during the hottest of summer days.

Without further ado here are some updates!  Many of my sundews are producing flower stalks.  My nepenthes are putting out new pitchers, and for the first time ever my D. scorpiodes has produced gemmae that I’ve harvested & sown onto fresh media.

Water tray plants
Some of my collection situated in their water tray.
D. tokaiensis flower stalks
D. tokaiensis producing flower stalks
D. adelae flower stalk
D. adelae flower stalk
D. aliciae
D. aliciae – Multiple crown divisions, multiple flower stalks!
N. eymae xx trusmadiensis
N. eymae xx trusmadiensis new pitcher opened recently.
N. burkei x hamata large new pitcher in the top right side.
N. burkei x hamata large new pitcher in the top right side.
This was sold to me way back when as D. admirabilis.  Someone pointed out it looks a lot like D. aliciae.  Once the flower appears it should answer the question once and for all!
This was sold to me way back when as D. admirabilis. Someone pointed out it looks a lot like D. aliciae. Once the flower appears it should answer the question once and for all!
D. spatulata 'Fraser Island' lots of flower stalks although they never seem to produce seed.  Anybody know why?
D. spatulata ‘Fraser Island’ lots of flower stalks although they never seem to produce seed. Anybody know why?
D. scorpiodes w/ gemmae in the center.
D. scorpiodes w/ gemmae in the center.
Close up photo of D. scorpiodes gemmae after harvesting them w/ tweezers.  Got 22 gemmae from 1 plant.
Close up photo of D. scorpiodes gemmae after harvesting them w/ tweezers. Got 22 gemmae from 1 plant.
Unsure of the species.  If anybody knows - Please send a message or leave a comment!
Unsure of the species. If anybody knows – Please send a message or leave a comment!
My Tillandsia centerpiece.
My Tillandsia centerpiece.
2 thoughts on “Spring Update 2015 – Lots of Flower Stalks!

    1. Thanks Maria! I don’t purchase/trade any plants for about 6 months out of the year due to the drop in temperatures around here so I’m already planning on expanding the collection! haha

      Like

Leave a Reply

