Updates

Drosera Seed Update and Crown Division

A few days back I posted a pic of my grow rack and discussed many of the visible plants, but I never really mentioned the seeds I had sown.  Back in November 2014 I sowed seeds of 3 different species of Drosera.  Drosera capillaris “long arm”, Drosera trinervia, and Drosera spatulata var “Lovellae.”  Here are some pics of the seeds that have germinated as of 1/6/2015.  I realize they are a bit hard to see, but they’re looking better each day.  I am eager to post a photo update showing tons of dewy plants in the future.

I also discovered something that I found quite interesting when inspecting & feeding my plants today.  Take a look further down the page at my D. aliciae!

Drosera capillaris "long arm"
Drosera capillaris “long arm” 1/6/2015
Drosera trinervia seedlings
Drosera trinvervia 1/6/2015. Approximately 2 seedlings thus far.
Drosera spatulata "Lovellae"
Drosera spatulata var “Lovellae” 1/6/2015

While continuing to check-up on my seedlings and feeding my other adult plants I could not help but notice my Drosera aliciae appeared to be growing 2 distinct “crowns.”  Up until today I did not think this was possible.  Fortunately after discussing this with several veteran growers, and comparing before/after photos, I’ve concluded that the growing “crown” of my Drosera aliciae has divided into 2 distinct plants.  Advanced growers have advised me to just let nature run its course and see how things play out.

D. aliciae in December 2014.
D. aliciae in December 2014.
D. aliciae 1/9/2015
D. aliciae 1/9/2015
2 thoughts on “Drosera Seed Update and Crown Division

Leave a Reply

